The Common Assessment Standard, developed by Build UK, has transformed the construction pre-qualification (PQ) process, improving efficiency, reducing cost and raising quality standards.

Companies that have the Common Assessment Standard are certified once a year by a Recognised Assessment Body and this is accepted by a growing list of Contractors and Clients who no longer specify a particular assessment body.

Central Government departments and wider public sector bodies should also use the Common Assessment Standard to pre-qualify suppliers in accordance with PPN 03/24, and the question set is being reviewed to ensure it can be used to demonstrate companies have the organisational capability to fulfil their roles under the Building Safety Act.

Common Assessment Standard

The Common Assessment Standard comprises an industry-agreed question set and corresponding assessment standards for the pre-qualification of suppliers.

There are two levels of certification: desktop and site-based. Companies apply to a Recognised Assessment Body for the certification level that is most appropriate for their business based on a range of factors including trade, size and the requirements of their clients.

For companies that employ fewer than 10 employees and have a turnover below £1.8 million or a balance sheet total less than £1.8 million, the assessment standards are applied in a proportionate way.

A guide to the question set has been published to help companies prepare for an audit by a Recognised Assessment Body.

The Common Assessment Standard is regularly reviewed, and to submit any suggested changes, please complete this form.

Organisations Using The Common Assessment Standard

  • ASUC
  • Balfour Beatty
  • BAM Construction
  • BCSA
  • BESA
  • Bouygues UK
  • Canary Wharf Contractors
  • Clancy Group
  • Costain
  • Derwent London
  • Ferrovial Construction
  • FIS
  • HAE
  • HS2
  • IPAF
  • ISG
  • Keltbray
  • Kier
  • Lipton Rogers
  • Mace
  • McCarthy Stone
  • Multiplex
  • Novus Property Solutions
  • Sir Robert McAlpine
  • Sisk
  • Skanska
  • Tilbury Douglas
  • VINCI Construction UK
  • VolkerWessels UK
  • Wates

Recognised Assessment Bodies

  Desktop Site-Based
Achilles BuildingConfidence Gold CAS Desktop Assessment BuildingConfidence Gold CAS Day Audit
Constructionline Constructionline Gold Constructionline Platinum
CQMS Safety-Scheme Premium Safety-Scheme Elite
SCCS SCCS Build Assured CAS Lite SCCS Build Assured CAS Elite
Veriforce CHAS CHAS Elite (CAS) CHAS Elite (CAS) Assured

All Recognised Assessment Bodies have demonstrated their capability to audit companies against the Common Assessment Standard.

Any organisation interested in becoming a Recognised Assessment Body should email

Data Sharing

Companies that have been certified against the Common Assessment Standard by a Recognised Assessment Body can share their key PQ data with other Recognised Assessment Bodies to increase their visibility amongst more Contractors and Clients. For each Recognised Assessment Body that a supplier wishes to share its data with, it will need to complete the relevant form as follows:

  • Achilles – Complete the Data Request form.
  • Constructionline – Complete the Data Portability Request form.
  • CQMS – Complete the Data Request form.
  • SCCS – Complete the Data Request form.
  • Veriforce CHAS – Create or log into your ‘My CHAS’ account, select ‘CHAS Foundation’ if you don’t have an account already, then click ‘Register my accreditation’ in the ‘Common Assessment Standard Third Party’ section, and complete the Data Request form.

Communication Tools