7 November 2016

Build UK Members Celebrate Construction News Awards Success

Build UK and its members celebrated a hugely successful evening at the Construction News Awards 2016, with members winning awards across a wide range of categories.

The annual black-tie awards dinner at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London, which was celebrating its 20th anniversary, was attended by over 1,350 clients, contractors and leading industry figures. The Construction News Awards are dedicated to recognising the UK’s leading contractors and provides the ideal platform for Build UK members to showcase their achievements.

Build UK members were short-listed in a superb 19 of 20 award categories, taking home the winner’s trophy in 13 of them. The number of awards and highly commended accolades given to our members at this year’s event further demonstrates the outstanding work that Build UK contractors continue to be a part of.

Congratulations to the following members who won awards on the night:

Category Winner Build UK Member
Roll of Honour Brendan Kerr, Chief Executive, Keltbray FPS/NFDC
Judges' Supreme Award Skanska Skanska
Contractor of the Year Mace Mace
Project of the Year (up to £10m) Sir Robert McAlpine – The Foundry, Newcastle Sir Robert McAlpine
Project of the Year (£10m-£30m) Arup Associates with Mace – Believe in Better building Mace
Project of the Year (over £50m) Mace working in partnership with Network Rail – Birmingham New Street station and Grand Central redevelopment Mace
Diversity Champion of the Year Skanska Skanska
Sustainable Company of the Year Willmott Dixon Willmott Dixon
Sustainable Project of the Year Morgan Sindall – The Enterprise Centre, University of East Anglia  Morgan Sindall 
BIM Excellence Interserve Construction Interserve Construction
Specialist Contractor of the Year (turnover up to £100m) Scudder NFDC
Specialist Contractor of the Year (turnover over £100m) P J Carey (Contractors) CONSTRUCT
Supply Chain Excellence ProCure21+: Department of Health and six PSCPs (Balfour Beatty, Galliford Try, IHP, Interserve, Kier and Willmott Dixon) Balfour Beatty, Galliford Try, Interserve, Kier and Willmott Dixon


Congratulations also go to the following companies who were Highly Commended in their categories:

• VolkerFitzpatrick – M1 junction 10a grade separation – Project of the Year (£10m-£30m)
• Carillion Building – Project of the Year (£30m-£50m)
• Keltbray Group (FPS/NFDC) – Specialist Contractor of the Year (Turnover over £100m)
• Morgan Sindall – Sustainable Company of the Year
• Lendlease – Cobalt Place – Sustainable Project of the Year
• O'Donovan Waste Disposal (ARCA) – Training Excellence

Build UK Chief Executive Suzannah Nichol MBE said:

“The Construction News Awards are hugely prestigious in our industry and recognise the continued high level of work completed by Contractors in construction. It was fantastic to see so many Build UK members on the short-list and taking away awards on the night, and we’d like to congratulate them all on their achievements.”

The full list of winners is available on the Construction News Awards website.